Geoff Johns Reveals More Forever Evil Details


Right now the various Justice Leagues are fighting each other in the really idiotic Trinity War crossover event thing. After that all wraps up we’ll be going into Villains Month, starting off with Forever Evil on September 4th. Geoff Johns, the writer of the book, recently spoke with IGN about the book and what will be happening to the DCU post-Trinity War. This contains SPOILERS FOR JUSTICE LEAGUE 23, THE END OF TRINITY WAR. IF YOU WANT TO KEEP THE ENDING UNSPOILED, TURN BACK NOW.

After the war, the world thinks that the Leagues are dead and gone. Throughout the war we’ve thought that it was the Secret Society of Super Villains who’ve been manipulating the Leagues into revealing to the world what giant dicks they all are. But as it turns out, they weren’t. It was… The Crime Syndicate! What’s that? Who’s the Crime Syndicate? Okay, history time.

Back in ye olden days of comics, parallel universes were even more popular than they are today (I know, right?). On one of these parallel earths, the Justice League was evil. They were criminals who eventually got bored because no one on their Earth could stand up to them and eventually came to the main world. Their line-up consists of Ultraman, Owlman, Superwoman, Johnny Quick, and Power Ring. But, for the new Syndicate, Deathstorm has been added to the mix.

Johns said about the book…

Evil is relative – and what I mean by that, is that our villains are as complex, as deep and as compelling as any of our heroes. Every antagonist in the DC Universe has a unique darkness, desire and drive. And the reason for being of Forever Evil is to explore that darkness. We start literally, in the first issue, when the whole world goes dark; communication and power are gone. And as our Earth is plunged into darkness, the Crime Syndicate begins their plan for conquest.

[They] make themselves known and they enact their mission to take over. They will lead an army of super villains, but not every villain sees things the way they do. Every villain in the DC Universe wants something different and not all of them want to rule the world. Or at least, not all of them want to rule the world in the way the Crime Syndicate do.

The book will follow a team of villains led by Lex Luthor including Black Adam, Sinestro, Black Manta, Bizarro, Captain Cold, and Batman (wait, what?) as they try to stop the Syndicate from taking over the world. Presumably so they can do it later. It will also explore what happened to the Leagues after the war.

Forever Evil 1 goes on sale September 4th.

Source: IGNvia ComicVine

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *